Award winners 2015 announced


The third day of the festival has come to an end. Following the award ceremony held at the Literature House this evening,
we are pleased to announce the winners of the film competition programmes for Fredrikstad Animation Festival 2015! Below is a complete list of this year’s winning entries, including the jury’s motivation for choosing each one.

Fredrikstad Animation Festival 2015 – Awards

Grand Prix

Title: Velodrool (2015)

Director: Sander Joon (Estonia)

Jury’s motivation:

This is an unconventional film that took us by surprise again and again with an impressive, raw and expressionistic style. It displays playful storytelling and a willingness to break barriers. It’s a provoking yet humorous film with a free spirit and artistic attitude that leaves you with a strange longing to smoke a cigarette and lick a rabbit…

As previously stated, the winner of the Grand Prix Award will be automatically nominated for the prestigious Cartoon d’Or award 2016.


Special Mention: Best Short

Title: Machine (2015)

Director: Sunit Parekh-Gaihede (Denmark)

Jury’s motivation:

The jury wants to reward this film for its ambitious art direction and the intriguing atmosphere it creates.


Best Short

Title: Life with Herman H Rott (2015)

Director: Chintis Lundgren (Estonia)

Jury’s motivation:

This film has great subtlety, wit and a profound sense of character. The design and animation has a strong signature style and great timing, and the film insightfully describes the emotionally rich dynamic of a challenging relationship, with endearing offbeat humour.


Special Mention: Best Children’s Film

Title: Three Fools (2014)

Director: Peter Hausner & Snobar Avani (Denmark)

Jury’s motivation:

“This film is about the fact that it’s not good to be greedy. But they make cool structures.”


Best Children’s Film

Title: The Portrait (2014)
Director: Avgousta Zourelidi (Finland)

Jury’s motivation:

“We like stories about good and evil. This film is also funny. It’s cool that even a small bird can accomplish something great.”


Special Mention: Student Film

Title: Tsunami (Denmark)

Director: Sofie Kampmark

Jury’s motivation:

Tsunami earned this special mention for its impressive craftsmanship and the contemplative way it handles the story.


Best Student Film

Title: Parrot Away (2014)

Director: Mads Meidner (Denmark)

Jury’s motivation:

This student film is executed with great professionalism. It shows a strong talent for storytelling, combining character, story and design in a stylish and very entertaining way.


Special Mention: Commissioned Films

Title: Amnesty (2015)

Director: Andreas J Riiser. (Norway)

Jury’s motivation:

This film really packs a punch. With its serious topic, clear storytelling and spot-on animated icons combined with live action, it touches your heart and makes you want to take action.


Best Commissioned Film

Title: Profile film for RVTS Sør (2015)

Director: Hanne Berkaak (Norway)

Jury’s motivation:

Through using strong design to portray a difficult subject and telling the story using animated metaphors, the filmmakers have created both a beautiful work of art as well as an effective carrier of an important message. This film was unanimously decided upon as the winner.


Audience Award:

Title: The Reward – Tales of Alethrion (2014)

Directors: Kenneth Ladekjaer and Mikkel Mainz Elkjær (Denmark)


Fredrikstad Animation Festival would like to congratulate the winners and thank all the entrants for their contributions!