Fredrikstad Animation Festival 2010 - Fredrikstad Animation Festival

Fredrikstad Animation Festival 2010

Fredrikstad Animation Festival 2010 was held from November 10th to 14th. The programme was fully packed with 5 days of features, shorts, seminars, workshops and exhibitions. The festivals official guests in 2010 were Nick Fletcher and Isaac Kerlow (USA), Paul Dutton, Maciek Szczerbowski and Chris Lavis (Canada) Eddie White (Australia) Alexey Alexeev (Russia/Hungary), Dave King (England), Nik og Nancy Phelps (USA/Belgia), Jan Rahbek and Sarita Christensen (Denmark), Jessica Lauren (Sweden) Tom Carpelan (Finland) and Ingrid Rommetveit and Bård Eker (Norway).

Fredrikstad Animation Festival 2010 was officially opened by Lotte Grepp Knutsen from the Ministry of Culture. The opening film was the norwegian feature Elias og jakten på havets gull, produced by Filmkameratene and directed by Lise I. Osvoll. This was the first official screening of the film.

The 2010 festival included 9 different programmes, approximately 100 short films, and 8 animated features.

Golden Gunnar Winners 2010

In 2010 over 200 films were submitted for the competition programme. 72 of these were screened at the festival. 2010 was also the first year the commissioned- and children’s film competing programmes were introduced.

Winners and jury members

Lifetime Achievement Award

Børge Ring and Kaj Pindal
This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to the Danish animators Børge Ring and Kaj Pindal, for their lifelong work in animation. The award was given during an honorary dinner for the two, live streamed from the Ribe Animation Festival in Denmark to Fredrikstad as a part of the Award Ceremony.

Fredrikstad Animation Festival’s Lifetime Achievement Award is chosen by the festival board of Norsk Animasjonsfond.

Nordic-Baltic Shorts

Jury: Jan Rahbek, Eddie White and Ingrid Rommetveit

Grand Prix

Tord & Tord
Director: Niki Lindroth von Bahr
Producer: Niki Lindroth von Bahr

Best short film

Divers in the Rain
Directors: Priit & Olga Pärn
Producers: Kalev Tamm, Eesti Joonisfilm Studio

Honorable mention

Grandma Grasshopper
Director: Denis Chapon
Producers: Tim Leborgne, The Animation Workshop

Best student film

Directors: Elli Vuorinen, Jasmiini Ottelin, Pinja Partanen
Producers: Eija Saarinen, Turku Arts Academy

Nominated for the ANOBA award:

Directors: Mats Grorud, Robin Jensen
Producers: Ape&Bjørn AS

Commissioned Films

Jury: Dave King, Sarita Christensen and Bård Eker

Best commissioned film

VG Fredagsbilag
Director: Martin Engh
Producer: Animasjonsdepartementet

Honorable mention

When I am King
Director: Sverre Fredriksen

Jakob & Neikob
Director: Martine Grande
Producer: Høydal Fjernsynsproduksjon

Kirkens SOS
Director: Cathinka Tanberg
Producer: Mikrofilm AS

Audience Award

Directors: Mats Grorud, Robin Jensen
Producers: Fredrik Pål Røed og Ruben Thorkildsen, Ape&Bjørn AS

The audience award is chosen by the festival audience

Children’s Films

Best children’s film

Magic Water
Director: Maris Brinkmanis
Producers: Maris Putnins, Film Studio ’’Animacijas brigade”

Honorable mention

Jakob og Neikob
Director: Martine Grande
Producer: Høydal Fjernsynsproduksjon

Jury: Malene Preutz (10),Henrik Erlingsen (9), Andrea Berg (6), Sindre Andre Bilet (10) and Ruben Oliver Sigurdsson Sveen (7)


Story in Animation

Produced in collaboration with Norsk Filminstitutt

During this seminar we discussed the process of writing a script to the finished product of an animated film. By discussing the topic from different angles and using various animated films as examples, the seminar helped show a wide perspective of the story related part of the development of an animated film.

Nick Fletcher, lead editor of Shrek Forever After, gave a presentation of the various development stages of an animated feature in the DreamWorks system. By using animatics and various edited versions of the film, Fletcher showed an in depth and thorough look at the development of both the characters and storyline in Shrek Forever After.

Paul Dutton, co-director of The Illusionist talked about the animation, the story development, and about the conditions of which the movie was produced. The Illusionist is based on a script by Jaques Tati, and is directed by the French auteur Sylvain Chomet.

Lastly, Chris Lavis and Maciek Szczerbowski talked about their thoughts on idea- and script writing. They presented the work they did on their Oscar nominated short Madame Tutli-Putli, as well as Higgelty-Piggelty Pop (on which they worked with Spike Jonze and Meryl Streep), and their new independent production L´Anneé de L´Os.

Other presentations and events

Storytelling Trends in Computer Animation

Professor Isaac Kerlow held a presentation on new trends in storytelling, style, and themes within animated film. He gave an overview of animation techniques and different approaches of the subject.

Alexey Alexeev Special

Alexey Alexeev gave us a presentation of his humorous and original universe. He spoke about his biggest success, Log Jam, a series of short animations bought by Nickelodeon and Canal Plus France. During the festival there was also an exhibition at Verdensspeilet with photos of his previous productions.

”Four Elements”

Before and during Fredrikstad Animation Festival, music students from Kulturskolen in Fredrikstad had a one week workshop with jazz musician Nik Phelps. Saturday November 13th the result of the workshop was presented by playing along to Four Elements, an animation made by pupils in the nearby area under the leadership of animators Gitte Ous and Katz Plunkett from E6 Medieverksted.

News And Blogs About Fredrikstad Animation Festival 2010

Team & Partners

Fredrikstad Animation Festival 2010 was produced by Norsk animasjonsforum with festival director Trond Ola Mevassvik and festival coordinator Magnus Eide. Collaborators were: Animation Volda, Animation Conversation, E6 Østfold Medieverksted, 4R Media, Film & Kino, Frame by frame, Fredrikstad Kino, Fredrikstad Kommune, Karivold Film, Netron, Norsk Filminstitutt, Rica City Hotel, Verdensspeilet Kaffebar, Øsfold Fylkeskommune, Østfold Kulturproduksjon. Fredrikstad Animation Festival is a Cartoon d’Or festival.