About - Fredrikstad Animation Festival


Fredrikstad Animation Festival is the leading festival for animated film in the Nordic region, dating back to 1994 and the festival Animerte Dager in Oslo, Norway. The annual festival now takes place each October in the town of Fredrikstad, outside of Oslo. One of the cornerstones of the festival is the Nordic-Baltic animated short film competition, with the awarding of the prize known as the Golden Gunnar. The festival is a professional arena for the animation industry, as well as an important event for students and educational institutions within animation, graphic design and digital media production. Each year, top animation industry professionals hold seminars and lectures, and the festival has previously hosted guests from famous studios such as Pixar, Disney and Aardman.

Previous Guests and speakers

  • Richard Williams (GB): Three times Oscar winner, legendary animator, director and writer of The Animators Survival Kit (FAF 2015)
  • Dan Harmon (US): Emmy-winning Writer and Producer, co-creator of Rick and Morty (FAF 2019)
  • Andreas Deja (US): Legendary Disney Animator (FAF 2008)
  • Gene Deitch (US): UPA legend (FAF 2008)
  • Don Hahn (US): Producer Disney (Lion King) (FAF 2011)
  • Carter Goodrich (US): Character designer (FAF 2018)
  • Suzie Templeton (GB): Oscar-winning Director (FAF2011)
  • Marcy Page (CA): Oscar-winning Producer from the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) (FAF 2012)
  • Ralph Eggleston (US): Designer and Art Director Pixar (FAF 2009)
  • Konstantin Bronzit (RU): Oscar-nominated Short Film Director (FAF 2016)
  • Tomm Moore (IE): Oscar-nominated Director from the highly acclaimed Irish Studio Cartoon Saloon (FAF 2013)
  • Bill Plympton (US): Oscar-nominated Director and king of Independent Animation (FAF 2013, AD 1994)
  • Joanna Quinn (GB): Oscar-nominated and Bafta-winning Short Film Director (FAF 2015)
  • Anita Killi (NO): Most winning Norwegian Short Film Maker (FAF 2013)
  • Torill Kove (NO): Three time Oscar-nominated and one time Oscar winner, Short Film Director (FAF 2012)
  • Michal Makarewicz (US): Emile-awarded Animation Supervisor of Pixar (FAF 2014)
  • Michel Ocelot (FR): Legendary and highly acclaimed French Director (FAF 2008)
  • Danny Antonucci (CA): Creator of Ed, Edd n’ Eddy TV-series on Cartoon Network (FAF 2014)
  • Benjamin Renner (FR): Oscar-nominated Director of Ernest & Celestiné (FAF 2013)
  • Rasmus Sivertsen (NO): The most wanted Norwegian director of all time (FAF 2015, 2014, 2007)
  • Jan Svankmajer (CZ): Czech Animator Legend (AD 1998)
  • Pär Åhlin (SE): Swedish Director Legend (FAF 2017, 2004)
  • Pritt Pärn (EE): Highly acclaimed Short Film Director and Teacher (FAF 2004)

Lifetime Achivement Award

To honor key figures of the Nordic-baltic Animation Scene, the festival board has gives out the Life Time Achivement Award at Fredrikstad Animation Festival every year sines 2007. Before that the festival gave out special awards in 2001 and in 2004 to honor the history of the nordic-baltic animation scene. The goal of the Lifetime Achivement Award document the rich history of animation and to spotlight  the people behind a growing animation scene from Northern Europe:




2001: Magnus Carlsson (Sweden) – Special Award


2004: Per Åhlin (Sweden), Jannik Hastrup (Denmark), Priit Pärn (Estonia) and Ivo  Caprino (Norway) – The Caprino Award


2007: Erling Eriksson (Sweden)


2008: Leif Markussen (Denmark)


2009: Inni Karine Melbye (Norway)


2010: Børge Ring & Kaj Pindal (Denmark)


2011: Gunnar Strøm (Norway)


2012: Rein Raamat: (Estonia)


2013: Kine Aune & Thor Sivertsen (Norway)


2014: Antonia Ringbom (Finland)


2015: Ilja Bereznickas (Lithuania)


2016: Gunnar Ville (Denmark)


2017: Per Åhlin, Sverige


2018: Roze Stiebra (Latvia)


2019: Anna Tystad Aronsen (Norway)


2020: No award was given out due to the Covid-19 pandemic outbreak